Committees and Task Forces
Get Connected!

Emory has a variety of University-wide committees addressing issues related to sustainability. These committees were formed to assist the University in establishing sustainability-related goals and policies and overseeing our progress towards these goals. Many projects on campus are underway as a result of these committees. Over time, the number of committees and their membership will grow as we further develop our sustainability initiatives.

Climate Action Plan Committee:
The CAP Committee was appointed in 2010 to begin the process of education and outreach to engage the Emory community in greenhouse gas reduction and to develop a formal commitment and Plan. The committee consists of faculty, staff, and students and works closely with Campus Services.

Committee on the Environment:
Created in 1990, the Committee on the Environment is a standing committee of the Emory University Senate. The Committee is comprised of faculty, staff, and students. The Committee works closely with Campus Services and meets monthly to review all projects undertaken by Emory that impact the environment, including new buildings, transportation initiatives, and forest management. In policy matters, COE has promoted conservation and sustainable development and facilitated Emory's eventual adoption of Green Building standards, a No Net Loss of Tree Canopy policy, a Water Conservation Policy, the Land Use plan that preserves natural areas from development, the Lullwater Management Plan, a Stormwater Management Plan, a Campus Environmental Office, and an Office of Sustainability.

Energy Think Tank:
Originally the Carbon Reduction Task Force, this group researches staffing and infrastructure needs related to feasibility assessment on the operations side to support the implementation of our Climate Action Plan.

Faculty Advisory Council:
The Faculty Advisory Council was created to advise the Office of Sustainability on issues related to curriculum and research. This group of distinguished faculty from Arts and Sciences, Medicine, Business, Law, Nursing, and Public Health report to the Provost.

Green Lab Team:
This team meets monthly to develop, implement, and monitor Emory’s newly created Green Lab Program.

Green Office Team:
This team meets monthly to develop, implement, and monitor Emory’s Green Office Program, currently in development.

Sustainability Task Force for the Health Sciences:
In 2008, the Executive Vice President for Health Sciences appointed a Sustainability Task Force. This group consists of broad representation of faculty, staff, and administrators from the healthcare related parts of Emory. It has undertaken a review of activities in healthcare and has made high-level recommendations for policy and practice.

Sustainability Representatives:
This group consists of at least one representative from each of Emory’s buildings with the goals of assisting with the development, communication and implementation of Emory’s sustainability programs to the campus community, and providing feedback to the Office of Sustainability Initiatives on these programs.

Sustainability Revolving Fund Working Group
The Sustainability Revolving Fund Working Group oversees Emory University’s $1.5 million revolving fund dedicated to funding energy and water efficiency projects that pay a return over time. Those funds are re-invested to finance future projects. The Working Group is composed of administrators from Emory’s Campus Services, Finance, Development, and Sustainability Offices. Projects reach the Working Group after being vetted by the Energy Task Force composed of staff, students and faculty.

Applications are now open to finance energy and water efficiency infrastructure projects in order to reduce fossil fuel use, lower greenhouse gas emissions, reduce potable water use, and avoid rising energy and water costs.

Criteria for Project Evaluation: Projects will be selected for funding based on the following criteria: (1) period of payback; (2) environmental benefits (e.g., carbon footprint reduction, aligns with 2025 Sustainability Vision); (3) whether and how it improves the student experience. Projects must be of a size to justify the administrative burden of tracking the energy savings (greater than $25,000), but they must cost less than $100,000 in order to ensure that funds are available for multiple investments. The full proposal can be found here and are due by midnight on Wednesday, October 11, to emorysustainability@emory.edu.

Sustainability Team:
Consisting of representatives from the key stakeholder groups and departments across campus, this team has a monthly “meeting of the minds” to share status updates, solve problems, and celebrate successes encountered during the implementation of Emory’s sustainability programs.

Sustainable Food Committee:
The Sustainable Food Committee was appointed by former President James Wagner in early 2007 to develop recommendations for meeting the food-related goals contained in the University's Sustainability Vision. Specifically, the Committee was charged with developing steps to meet Emory's goal of procuring 75 percent of ingredients in our cafeterias and hospitals from local or sustainably-grown sources by 2015. The Committee was also tasked with working with farmers and distributors to bolster regional food supplies, developing a farmers market on campus, developing guidelines for sustainable food procurement, overseeing the Educational Garden Project, and expanding awareness of sustainability issues related to food.

Waste Think Tank:
Similar to the Energy Think Tank, this group meets quarterly to brainstorm and implement staffing and infrastructure efforts necessary to meet the University’s goal of 65% of waste diverted from the landfill.

Related Articles
Sustainability Revolving Fund Application